top of page

The Council is proud to announce the selection of Mr. Roy Gutman as the new President of the Baltimore Council on Foreign Affairs.  Mr. Gutman will assume the presidency on 1 March replacing the legendary Dr. Frank Burd who formed the council in 1980.

Mr. Gutman’s background is that of a journalist and author.  He is the author of Banana Diplomacy, The Making of American Policy in Nicaragua; A Witness to Genocide (the inside account of the ethnic cleansing in Bosnia); co editor of Crimes of War:  What the Public Should Know; and author of How We Missed the Story, Osama Bin Laden, The Taliban, and the Hijacking of Afghanistan.

His journalist background includes Middle East Bureau Chief; Baghdad Bureau Chief, and Foreign Editor for McClatchy Newspapers; Foreign Editor and European Bureau Chief for Newsday; and Diplomatic Correspondent for Newsweek.

His work has won the Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting, the Overseas Press Club’s Hal Boyle Award, the George Polk Award, the Selden Ring Award for Investigative Reporting and the Heywood Broun Memorial Award.  In addition, he’s received the Francis Shattuck Security and Peace Award of the American Bar Association and the Arthur Ross Prize of the American Academy of Diplomacy.

Mr. Gutman earned a BA degree in history from Haverford College and a MSc from The London School of Economics.  He has taught at Princeton University and Northwestern University.

The Council looks forward to Mr. Gutman’s leadership.


Mr. Alfred Berkeley
Mr. Samuel M. Dell, III
Mr. Donald Fetzer
Robert O. Freedman, Ph.D.
Captain R. Robinson Harris, USN (Retired)
Mr. Robert W. Helm, Esq.
Captain Carl D. Kilhoffer, Sr., USN (Retired)
Lieutenant General Edwin S. Leland, USA (Retired)
Mr. Howard Libit
Jay Perman, MD
Ambassador James C. Rosapepe
Ambassador Daniel V. Speckhard

bottom of page